The Pressure.

The reason why I don’t blog as much is as such –
I started this blog as an escape from reality, a place I can speak my mind while hiding my face (not hiding the fact that I’m a bit of a coward). I never expected to reach this many readers, which I’m truly grateful for. It’s been a couple of years and it’s like seeing my seeds of labour and tears grow. I’m not sure if I’ve said the right things when you need it. I’m not sure if you’ve learnt from my mistakes. I’m not sure if you’ve laughed as much as I have. For what it’s worth, we are all on similar journeys of life. And I thank you for making me a part of yours.

“With great power comes great responsibility.” – Uncle Ben from Spiderman

I tend to put tons of pressure on myself when I shouldn’t. I go mad thinking of what blog stories should I write, if I’d get any likes, if I’d get more followers, etc. Truth is, it happens in all aspects of life…and probably to everyone. I had a time in my life that I couldn’t care less about what people said about me, I spoke my mind and didn’t ignore the consequences. I was truly free back then. So what happened? How did I get back into someone that listened to others telling me how I should live my life and what I should and should not do?

Why do all of us care about others so much? This undying thirst to be approved by others have lead us to being nothing but slaves to others. Plastic surgery, extreme weight loss programmes, getting the latest gadgets – all of these are triggered by what the public forces down our throats, and we are just taking chock fulls of arsenic like it’s our daily diet. I look around and can easily say that most of us have lost our identities.

Changing our hair colour, eye colour, natural beauty, kids with latest phones and tablets – the list goes on and on.  What are we feeding ourselves and our children? Are we saying that we should never be happy with what we have? Are we pressured into always thinking that we need other’s approval and jealousy to make ourselves feel better?

Haha! How I’ve ventured off into the depths of the topic from a simple statement. Months of storing it has finally been let out. And like I said, my identity is covered. I could be the one beside you while typing this out.

Love & Peace.

Leave a Reply

