Success.

A teacher asked her class, “Write down what you want to be when you grow up.”
“I want to be a fireman.”
“I want to be a doctor.”
“I want to be a teacher.,

“I want to be happy.”
Upon reading that, the teacher looked up and said, “I think you misunderstood what my question was…”
“No,” said the child, “if I can’t be happy, I won’t be successful.”

Last night, my mum’s friend came over. She was asking about my job and what the company I work in does. As I explained to her and told her the different roles I’ve done, she looked to my mum and said, “your daughter is so successful. Why worry?”

Now, that made me leap as the first thought that came to my mind was, “am I being judged by my position in terms of whether I am successful or not?” Truth is, if you’ve understood the moral of the above story, success derives from being happy. The sad truth is that people fail to remember that.

We race, or sprint towards the next IT thing. Always wanting to top someone else or feeling judged by others if you so much as, God forbid, not get that latest gadget/car/bag/phone/shoes/invisible clothes/real clothes, etc. Do they bring you true happiness or just a false impression of it?

We are so busy running after a fantasy of life when really, all you have to do to live is to relax and enjoy the little things. So, the next time you see a family being busy with their phones and iPads, please do smack them…well, not literally, wouldn’t want you getting sued cos of me. You get my point, I hope.

Live. Laugh. Love.

Leave a Reply

