Try Something New.

Every now and then, we are always craving for new experiences. That’s how we learn, no? Something worth talking about to our friends and family too. An expansion to our knowledge.

Yes, there a billion things we can do and some cost more than others (not all of us can afford to own a helicopter or climb Mount Everest).

There’s this new awareness thing in town. Alright, new probably isn’t the word as it’s on for years but the public has started picking it up only over the past few years. This experience is called “dining in the dark”. Experience having a meal as a blind person, void of colours and having to rely solely on touch and taste (and hearing if you’re having chips).

I did my own DIY experience. It would have been more effective if I didn’t personally lay out my plate with my eyes open. Then again, I can’t afford to make so much of a mess or I would be yelled at. Anyway, getting back – I closed my eyes as I had my first bite and for the entire meal. I found myself feeling around the plate for the vegetables and rice. Every morsel I had was exhilarating. The best parts of the entire meal was how the soft, fried cubes of tofu broke apart as I bite into it and how the fish melted in my mouth. I had something crunchy too, which I’m assuming was garlic.

Now, it was a different experience for me but I won’t call myself an expert as to how the blind live. I wouldn’t know what I’d do without any one of my senses. As the saying goes, “you don’t know what you’ve got until it’s gone” is incredibly true.

For those out there that has faced a sudden drastic change in their lives, I wish you all the strength and perseverance for the present and future.

Little bits of such experiences teaches me (and I hope you) that we should be grateful for the gifts we have in our lives. There’s no such thing as a bad life, only a bad day, and that too can be changed.

And the last note for the day, you don’t need to spend tons of money on new experiences. Think outside the box the next time you want to do something different!

Love & Peace.

Leave a Reply

