Of dolls and children

The long weekend has come and gone. Besides lazing around the house and going for zumba classes, I got to meet a friend of mine on a quick decision to watch a movie (of all places, Vivo City! Too crowded for our liking but we survived). Initially, it was between Wolverine and R.I.P.D…and then, there was The Conjuring. Oh, The Conjuring. Even with me reluctant to watch a horror movie involving dolls and children, we caught it anyway. It’s been a hard decision as to whether I should do a review on it or not, not wanting to unnecessarily spook myself further. So, let’s just talk about the movie without any further research onto it.

The movie, simply put, is about this couple, Ed and Lorraine Warren, who are paranormal investigators. It starts off with the screen focused on half of the face of the Annabel doll. Sure, they picked such an innocent name for something so spooky. While staring into her eye for about a minute, and hearing a conversation at the background, the camera moves to actual human beings *phew*. They then proceed to the case behind the doll, followed by a summary of other cases they’ve dealt with.

The Conjuring is mainly about this family with 5 daughters moving to an abandoned house for some peace and quiet. Soon, they find out that they’re not alone in the house and encounter things out of this world. Now, if you’ve watched enough horror movies, you’d know that that’s always a bad thing. Houses remain abandoned for a reason.

I was honestly surprised to see that we still pretty much use the same technology as of the 70s, when it comes to paranormal investigation (watch Ghost Hunters and Ghost Adventures, etc). Well, more advanced definitely, but who would have taught? Or maybe it’s just me.

James Wan, the director, clearly didn’t waste any time to make us squeal and scream though. Another thing that was great about the movie was that there weren’t any fake scares. No black cats making scary sounds or anything of that sort. There was a few injections of laughter, which was greatly appreciated. My friend and I had concluded that it was somewhat of Exorcist blended with Chuckie.

However, it didn’t keep my heart racing as soon as the movie ended but it made everyone leave the hall at the same time. To me, personally, it was scary while watching it but the after-effects would vary from person to person. Who knows? Maybe I’d only get spooked out again if I’m home alone. But I won’t deny the fact that with it being the Hungry Ghosts’ festival now, it did spook me out and I found myself praying all the way till I reached home, relieved that my folks were home too.

Definitely a must-watch though, but not for the faint hearted!
Scare rating for me would be 7/10.

Be kind to one another šŸ™‚

x

Leave a Reply

