Reflection: The Honest Truth, Part I

So, it would be a lie to say that the lazy/ procrastination bug has not caught up to me, yet again. I was meant to post something up over last week but honestly don’t remember actually logging on to the computer…or maybe I did. Hmm, it’s getting a tad bit worrying that I can’t remember much of my days any more. I guess that’s what happens when you pretty much go with the flow. Oh, did I tell you that that’s my new motto? “To go with the flow.”

Yes, let’s get to that for a bit. And this does lead to the whole purpose of this post – trust me. Might be a long read ahead! Don’t tell me I didn’t warn you now.

I used to be someone that would worry about everything, and make the worst of every small situation. It was not till my recent-ish holiday that I realized the importance of life.

I’m sure we’ve all heard of the phrase, “stop and smell the roses.” Well, I would say that it does pretty much sum up the whole post, however I can’t help but to explain in great detail of how funny life is, and all the unnecessary worries we carry day-to-day without realizing.

Now, we’re all well aware of how stressful life is. But what is the basis of all this stress? What makes us, Singaporeans, to be one of the least happiest people in the world? As much as we fight it, all it takes is a walk around the estate for a reality check. We’re not as polite and friendly as we should be. Even when I smile to a stranger, 9/10 times all I get in return is a weird stare.

Well, we all have our set of problems BUT, BUT are they REALLY worth all the stress? I mean, think about it – you’re risking not only physical attributes (a.k.a wrinkles and eye bags) but it does become a health problem too.

And so, since this is the jobless’ diary – let’s just say that finding a job is one of your biggest stress trigger. Now, the way I see it is that you can continue sitting at home and pray for a miracle to drop down from the sky, or do something about it. However, first, you have to stop expecting to get calls from particular companies, especially if you’re really keen to work for them. Learn to move on, or improve on your resume. Put yourself out there, find people within the same industry and make connections.

How do you improve your resume? Well, while you’re on the job hunt, and you feel that it’s taking longer than expected – it’s always best to learn new things, or brush up old hobbies that could be beneficial for your future. One of the things that I’ve always be intrigued by are languages. Now, being jobless and probably broke and living with your folks (ahem), you might be tight on cash to apply for such classes. But HEY! What’s YouTube for?!

To help you out with it, here are some videos I found that are working for me. Hope it helps!

Spanish:

French:

Japanese:

So, yes, pretty much the moral of this bit of the post is to learn new skills when you can. You never know when you’re gonna need it 🙂

Getting back to the first part where I said “to go with the flow” and to stop stressing so much about everything. Here’s a few tricks that has helped me over the past couple of months when it felt like the hole I was digging was getting deeper (yes, we’ve all been there).

1) Meditate
Now, I’m not saying to go “Om”-ing when you hit the stress peaks. It’s all about simply breathing, letting those shoulders relax and closing your eyes.

Sit on the floor in a quiet room (or if you prefer, around nature) for at least 10 mins, before you start your day. Put your hands on your knees, palms facing the ceiling/ sky. Close your eyes and focus on your breathing. Drop those shoulders. Let your mind work through all your problems and slowly but persistently, tell them to make way. Push them aside for the remaining of the time. Focus on your breathing. Just empty your mind and feel the positive energy surround you. Bask in it for a while till you’re ready and confident to start your day.

Don’t forget to thank it too, and it’s not necessary to restrict this to a particular time of the day. Take it with you whenever you feel overwhelmed. Most importantly, remember to just breathe,

2) Hearing upbeat, positive songs
Ever heard a dance song and can’t help but to start tapping your feet or fingers to the beat? It’s the same thing when you are feeling down or stressed! We may tend to dwell on it too long, but be a little more optimistic and start hearing songs that will bring about that positivity back into your life. The sun gets to shine everyday, what difference is that to you?

3) Change the people you hang out with…or be the change
Now, I believe we’ve all heard this about a million times – we tend to become like the people we hang around with. So, if you’re hanging around people who are nothing but pessimists, well then…need I say more? Unless you can be the change and help your friends be more positive, you may need to find more optimists in your life.

4) Do something silly now and then
Like dance around your house to Ricky Martin’s She Bangs She Bangs (ok, that was a bit old school but you get the drift), or be like a kid and enjoy the playground. Call your girl friends and play dress up, followed by a tea party. Enjoy a karaoke session while sucking helium out of balloons. Have a flour fight with your cutie, in the pretence of baking a cake.

5) Last, but not least, learn to be happy with everything you have
Not everyone is as lucky as you! Breathe, believe and be positive, everything will work out just great 🙂

Sorry for the extremely long post! Did say it would be a long one earlier, didn’t I? :p

Don’t forget to leave your comments and suggestions below.

Be kind to each other. Peace.

x

 

Leave a Reply

